Mazankowski Cardiac Scieces Research Day

James de Lemos, MD

James de Lemos, MD

Professor of Medicine
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Dallas, Texas, United States

Full Bio

Phillip McFarlane, MD

Philip McFarlane, MD, FRCP(C), PhD

Assistant Professor, Division of Nephrology
St. Michael's Hospital,
University of Toronto
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Full Bio


Mazankowski Cardiac Sciences Research Day Sidebar Bottom

Dr. Joseph Dvorkin Memorial Lecture

Joseph Dvorkin, B.A., M.D., FRCP(C), FACP, FACC (1917-1976) was born in Calgary, and received his M.D. Degree from the University of Alberta in 1943. After discharge from the R.C.A.M.C. in 1945 with the rank of Major, he was appointed as a Clinical Professor at the University of Alberta. A pioneer in heart care, he belonged to the team of physicians who initiated diagnostic cardiology and who were involved in Canada's first open heart surgery procedure at the University of Alberta Hospital. The principles he lived by were professional commitment, integrity, and honesty, thus fulfilling his quest to ease the suffering of his fellow man.

The Dvorkin lectureship is awarded to a renowned speaker for the Mazankowski Cardiac Sciences Research Day/Medicine Grand Rounds.

Past Recipients:

2016 - Joseph Martin Penninger, MD, Institute for Molecular Biotechnology of the Austrian Academy of Sciences
2015 - Zahi A. Fayad, PhD, Mount Sinai Hospital
2014 - Benoit Bruneau, PhD, University of California
2013 - Francis G. Spinale, MD, PhD, University of South Carolina
2012 - Dr. John R. Teerlink, University of California
2011 - Dr. Thomas G. Parker, University of Toronto
2010 - Dr. John E. Hall, University of Mississippi
2009 - Dr. Kenneth Walsh, Boston University
2008 - No recipient – Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute Inaugural Congress
2007 - Dr. Stephen Fremes, Sunnybrook HSC
2006 - Dr. Michael Bliss, University of Toronto
2005 - Dr. Matthias Friedrich, University of Calgary
2004 - Dr. William Ghali, University of Calgary
2003 - Dr. D. George Wyse, University of Calgary
2002 - Dr. Duncan Stewart, University of Toronto
2001 - Dr. Bernard Gersh, Mayo Clinic
2000 - Dr. Lyall Higginson, University of Ottawa Heart Institute



© Mazankowski Cardiac Sciences Research Day. All Rights Reserved.  Terms of Use | Privacy Policy
Web Development by Animatters Inc.