Mazankowski Cardiac Scieces Research Day

James de Lemos, MD

James de Lemos, MD

Professor of Medicine
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Dallas, Texas, United States

Full Bio

Phillip McFarlane, MD

Philip McFarlane, MD, FRCP(C), PhD

Assistant Professor, Division of Nephrology
St. Michael's Hospital,
University of Toronto
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Full Bio


Mazankowski Cardiac Sciences Research Day Sidebar Bottom

Dr. Francis X. Witkowski Award

Dr. Francis Witkowski was an innovative scientist who was on the cutting edge of technology. Dr. Witkowski was a world leader in mapping the electrical alterations that occur in the heart during ventricular fibrillation. His advances in the use of optical imaging to map cardiac electrical activity provided an important new approach to the study of ventricular fibrillation. To remember and honour this innovative approach to science the Cardiovascular Research Group and the Division of Cardiology of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Alberta have created the Dr. Francis X. Witkowski Publication Award.

The Dr. Francis X. Witkowski Award is given to a young investigator and will favour innovative or technologically based science.

Who can Apply for this Award?

Graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, or residents training in the Cardiovascular field at the University of Alberta are invited to apply for this award.

Applications will consist of submitting a recent first author research publication and a letter from the applicant's mentor explaining why this research is innovative and important. This research article should have been published within the last 12-month period or, be in press, or, submitted for publication in a peer reviewed journal. The quality and potential impact of the paper will be judged by a panel of scientists/clinicians at the University of Alberta and the Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute.

The successful applicant will receive a commemorative plaque and $1000 prize at the Mazankowski Cardiac Sciences Day.

To apply submit your application to

Past Award Winners:

2017 - Ratnadeep Basu
2016 - Subhash Das
2015 - Roxane Paulin, PhD
2014 - Valibhav B. Patel, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow, Dept of Medicine
2013 - Peter Dromparis, Medical Student
2012 – Dr. Vijay Kandalam
2011 - Dr. Mohammad Ali
2010 - Dr. Gopinath Sutendra
2009 - Dr. Vernon Dolinsky
2008 - Dr. Debby P.Y. Koonen
2007 - Dr. Jayan Nagendran
2006 - Dr. Clifford Folmes
2005 - Dr. Hernando Leon
2004 - Dr. Istvan Baczko
2003 - Dr. Sean McMurtry
2002 - Dr. Zlatko Pozeg
2001 - Dr. Lei Guo
2000 - Dr. Po-Yin Cheung


© Mazankowski Cardiac Sciences Research Day. All Rights Reserved.  Terms of Use | Privacy Policy
Web Development by Animatters Inc.